Thursday, May 30, 2013

OCC Police Academy to graduate 33 trainees

The Oakland Police Academy is graduating its 104th Basic Police Training class of 33 trainees on Friday, June 21. 

Commencement ceremonies are at 2 p.m. in the Jones Johnson Theater at OCC’s Royal Oak Campus, 739 S. Washington and features 51st District Court Judge Jodine Debbrecht as speaker.  

Students are typically either sponsored by a law enforcement agency after being offered employment or find employment after graduating from the academy. The academy is located on Oakland Community College’s Auburn Hills Campus.

Of the 33 trainees in the class, two are sponsored by the Dearborn Police Department, one by the Oakland County Sheriff’s Office, one by the Genesee County Sheriff’s Office and one by the Novi Police Department. Independent students who are not sponsored by a law enforcement agency are deemed eligible for licensure by the State of Michigan.

Two 17-week basic police training classes enrolling up to 50 students are held each year. The academy presents specialized programs that include police interview techniques and police dog training. About 3,000 law enforcement personnel attend the Oakland Police Academy a year.

The Auburn Hills Campus of OCC is located at 2900 Featherstone Road in Auburn Hills.  For further information about the Oakland Police Academy contact Director of Basic Police Training Richard Tillman at (248) 232-4222.

Congratulations to all graduates!

They are: Mark Aldrich of Plymouth, Brian Burke of Clawson, Estere Chochla of Hamtramck, John Corder of Swartz Creek, Charles Corley of Detroit, Christina Doolan of Farmington Hills,  Emily Dove of Rochester Hills, Derek Edler of Troy,  Scott Flarity of Madison Heights, Justin Gekiere of Harrison Twp., Troy Hairston of Birmingham, Brian Jenkins of Hartland, Edward Johnson of Dearborn Heights, Bryan Johnston of Pinckney, Michael Jusino of Otisville, Joseph Larson of Clarkston, Victoria Madge of Royal Oak, Gerard Marschall of Auburn Hills, Jeremy Meiser of Lake Orion, Brendon Moquin of Clarkston, Brandon Murphey of Detroit, Eric Nelson of Rochester Hills, Brandon Perry of Detroit, William Prestige of Sterling Heights, Chivas Rivers of Oak Park, Brian Ross of Flint, Andrew Rougeau of Madison Heights, Christopher Smith of Southfield, Michael Tesmer of Metamora, Muhieddine Turk of Farmington Hills, Paul Wisniewski of Armada, and Martin Youhanna of Royal Oak.

No comments:

Post a Comment